April 2011
Featured Articles

Ag Leaders Honored with Induction into Alabama Agriculture Hall of Honor

Auburn University College of Agriculture Dean Bill Batchelor (left) and Auburn University Agricultural Alumni Association president Richard Holladay (right) stand with the three 2011 inductees into the association’s Alabama Agriculture Hall of Honor, including (standing, from left) Alabama Farmers Federation President Jerry Newby of Athens and retired Extension peanut specialist Dallas Hartzog of Webb and (seated) noted Charolais cattle producer Harold Pate of Lowndesboro. The men, who were inducted in a Feb. 22 ceremony in Auburn, were awarded the honors for the significant impact they have had in strengthening agriculture and agribusiness in Alabama. Also during the event, the late Buck Appleton of Collinsville and the late John “Doc” Cottier of Auburn were honored posthumously as 2011 Agricultural Pioneer Award winners in recognition of the roles they played in shaping Alabama’s agriculture industry. The ag alumni organization established the Hall of Honor in 1984 and since 1985 has annually increased its ranks by three. Biographical plaques of the new inductees and the 78 previous Hall of Honor awardees are located on the first floor of Comer Hall.