March 2007
Featured Articles

Environmental, Service Awards Presented at AFC Annual Meeting

Dempsey Receives Award for Environmental Stewardship

At AFC’s 70th annual meeting in February, Andrew Dempsey, left, Manager of Calhoun Farmers Cooperative in Jacksonville was presented The President’s Environmental Stewardship Award by CEO Tommy Paulk. The recipient of this award is recognized for using best management practices for stewardship of the environment and thus reducing or eliminating the probability of environmental contamination. Past Recipients include Ernest Fleming of Luverne Cooperative Services, Tony James of Atmore Truckers Association, John Curtis of Limestone Farmers Cooperative, Larry Leslie of Cherokee Farmers Cooperative and Ralph Ricks of Quality Cooperative, Inc.

Employees’ Years of Service with AFC Acknowledged at Annual Meeting

At AFC’s annual meeting, Years of Service Awards were presented by President Tommy Paulk, Roger Pangle, Executive Vice President and Larry Bennich, Chairman of the Board. Receiving awards, but not pictured below were Steve Hodges, Marshall Farmers Cooperative for 30 years of service; John Reed, Anderson’s Peanuts, 20 years; Jeff Kinder, Clay County Farmers Exchange, 10 years; and Lamar Peters, Fayette Branch of AFC, 5 years. Mr. Paulk, left in all photos, presented awards to employees with 5-35 years of service.

40 Years

Thomas B. Paulk, left,
AFC President,
presented by Larry Bennich
35 Years
James E. Fleming, right,
AFC Management Services
J. Wayne Gilliam, right,
Tuscaloosa Farmers Cooperative
30 Years
Roger T. Pangle, right,
AFC Executive Vice President
Max Levon Glisson, right,
Andalusia Farmers Cooperative
25 Years
Marie Cook, right,
AFC Safety Director
Larry Marvin Leslie, right,
Cherokee Farmers Cooperative
Jimmy Tillis, right,
Coffee County Farmers Cooperative
20 Years

James H. Allen, right,
AFC Director of Public Relations and Advertising
10 Years

Ricky L. Aldridge, right,
Walker Farmers Cooperative
Benjamin P. Courson, right,
Opp’s Co-op
5 Years

Ronald L. Bailey, right,
AFC Currie Gin
Alfred E. Cheatham, Jr., right,
 AFC Corporate Controller
Nathaniel P. Chesnut, right,
AFC Management Services